Meet the New Teachers

5709297 (1)

By: Alonzo Morales and Cierra Hart

September 2, 2016; 11:04 am

Davenport North has new teachers showing up every year. For some, it’s their first year teaching; for others, they just transferred from a different school. So we decided to ask new English teachers, Mrs. Grimesey and Mr. Ross, as well as new Spanish, Mrs. Jager, a couple of questions.

The first question we asked was, “How do you like North so far?”

“So far, everyone has been friendly.  The students are definitely more outgoing than students from my previous school, so it is fun to talk and get to know them,” said Mrs. Grimesey

We then asked the teachers why they decided to come to North.

“I wanted to be a part of a growing school that is moving forward.” -Mr. Ross

“What’s your favorite thing about the school?”

“The environment in general- the staff and students are great.” -Mrs. Jager

“What’s one difference between here and the school you came from?”

“Well, the schools I worked in overseas tended to be smaller, so you were able to get to know everyone. We also had more field trips because there were fewer students; it was just easier to organize trips. Our last field trip was to a waterpark.” -Mrs. Grimesey

“Why did you want to start teaching?” 

“I want to make a difference in the world.” -Mr. Ross

“My first degree is not in teaching, however, my first job out of college, I was given an opportunity to do outreach education at various school districts in the QC. I quickly realized that I loved being in the classroom and teaching- that led me to Ambrose to earn my teaching degree and years later, here I am!” -Mrs. Jager

The final question was “Why did you choose to teach high school?”

“Little kids are gross.  Seriously. Beyond the grossness of little kids, I like that high schoolers are young adults who can think and reason.   I think high school is an important time in our lives, and I am happy to be a part of it.” -Mrs. Grimesey

 

One thought on “Meet the New Teachers

Leave a Reply

