Returning to North: Mr. Wachal

Coach Wachal or Mr. Wachal has had some great years at Davenport North High School. Wachal has had some huge accomplishments here at North as well, having many state baseball appearances and looking for more.

Wachal has grown up a Wildcat. Wachal is a current coach for many different sports here in the past at North high some of them sports being Baseball, Football, and track.  Yet, Wachal is a graduate of North High School. I asked Wachal some question about his time here as a student, teacher, and coach.

  1. How many years have you been at North High School?

I have been a teacher at North on and off for 8 years. I have been coaching sports at North for 19 years, and I was a graduate of North in 1996.  I have been involved with North High School either as a student, coach, or teacher for the past 24 years.


  1. What have you enjoyed most from your years here at North?

I have really enjoyed the people here at North.  There are a lot of friendships that have developed while I have been here.  Most of my closest friends were either classmates of mine here, people I have worked with while teaching and coaching, or former players of mine.


  1. What is your favorite memory here at North.

I have had a lot of good memories at North, however my favorite memory was when we beat Central at Brady St. Stadium to go to state in 2015.  The game went extra innings and it is always great to beat Central, especially when it ends their season.


  1. How has coaching been for you?

I absolutely love coaching at North.  Through the years, I have had the opportunity to get to know a number of amazing kids.  It is great to have successful teams and players, but it is more rewarding to see kids mature and develop into outstanding people.


  1. What will your feelings be once you retire?

Hopefully I won’t have to worry about this for a while.  I think when I decide to hang it up, it will be bittersweet.  I have a lot of great memories here and have spent most of my life at this school.  It is a big part of my life.  


  1. Are you excited for this upcoming Baseball season and if so what about?

I am always excited for baseball season.  This year we have a lot of seniors who have been in the program and I expect them to lead the way.  We have a couple pitchers we are expecting big things from.


  1. Do you love your job here at North?

I do love my job here at North.  I enjoy the people I work with and the kids here at North.


  1. How has coaching football fared with you so far? Do you enjoy it?

Coaching football for me is a lot different than coaching baseball.  As an assistant, I don’t have to deal with a lot of the things that a head coach does, so it is nice to be able to focus on coaching and not necessarily all the other things that comes with being the head coach.  I enjoy coaching with Coach Krusey, and think he will do a wonderful job here at North.


  1. Are you happy to say that you have spent such a long time here?

I am very happy with the time that I have spent here at North.  Having been a student here, I take a lot of pride in this place and love to see the school do well academically, in athletics, music, and all activities.  I love this school and I am proud to be a Wildcat!

As you can see, Wachal has had some pretty special years here at North. From the length I’ve known Wachal he loves North more than anyone i know. Wachal puts in a lot of time in for the high school and shows his love for it. You can always tell that he is proud to be wildcat. Wachal always wants to get involved with new things here at north as well and has showed that by coaching football and track. He looks to have many more years here at North and that is awesome.

Leave a Reply

